Stitch Workshop

Today I really enjoyed learning these 5 new techniques that I had never tried before – some of them I hadn’t heard of.

Triple Needle

P1060833 P1060834

  • 3 rows of stitching
  • used the same as a double needle
  • 3rd thread placed on table at the end of sewing machine – threads between bobbin winder and stopper to hold
  • DON’T go above a 2 on width

I love the effect achieved with a triple needle and the fact that you can blend three different shades/colours in one quick line.

3 Way Cording Foot

P1060831P1060832

P1060825P1060826

  • 3 channels under back of foot to accommodate up to 3 narrow cords (purchased or handmade)
  • cords are held in place by black clip at front

Enjoyed the effect achieved by this foot and the difference a change in stitch makes. Wanted to see what it would look like with a variety of textures layered up so I tried this using cream, grey and a bit of pink.

Pintuck Foot

 P1060836

  • Used with twin needle
  • Two sized feet, narrow and wide
  • Machine setting –
    Tension – 8
    Stitch – Straight
    Length – 2.5
    Width – 0
  • Put cord through guide on bobbin cover and lace fabric over the top

Before this workshop I had never heard this technique but liked how quick it was. It took me a while to get the hang of it but once I had it I found it really easy.

Fringe Foot

 P1060829 P1060830

P1060827

  • used for creating fringes using zigzag or decorative stitches which can then be either cut or left in tact. (if cut, must stitched down the middle to secure the thread using an ordinary foot)
  • do not adjust the stitch selector or width dial unless needle is in highest position
  • hand wind first few stitches to check needle isn’t hitting the blade

This was another technique which was completely unheard of to me. Once I had tried each of the stitches, I experimented by layering up different colours of the same stitch. This created a lovely soft, fluffy texture.

Needle Punch Machine

P1060823P1060822

  • Cluster of 5 needles to fuse fabrics and fibres together
  • No thread or bobbin
  • Calico’s weave is too tight – muslin is  perfect
  • Guide fabric as you would for free machine embroidery
  • More fabric slow but needle fast – don’t be afraid to put foot on pedal to the floor

This was the technique that I was the most excited about but had to wait a while because it was a popular one. I’ve done quite a lot of needle felting by hand but find it really time consuming, so this was perfect. I did two samples and worked into the second for longer, using more fibres.
I decided against using really bright colours because I wanted to focus on the technique and the effect I could achieve rather than the colours.

Leave a Reply

