City Sketch – Sketches

I’ve done some more sketches from the new photos I took in the city centre, because this was successful in bringing me on to stitch samples in my last work.

This first one was a collaboration of a few of the figures in my photos, all layered up into one sketch. It was done quickly and in charcoal.

P1060868

P1060869 P1060870 P1060872P1060873

 I think this drawing was effective because, where the figures are sketchy and undefined, it is difficult for the viewer to pinpoint one particular person unless looking looking really closely.

P1060875 P1060878

These next two were single figures on their own but facing away, therefore remaining anonymous while away from the crowd.

P1060881

P1060880 P1060884

These two men were walking past me (giving me a side view in the photo) carrying big bags. These left the questions: what is in the bags? Where are they going? Is it shopping? Going away somewhere?

Leave a Reply

