The Body in Society – Reflexive Bodies (Week 5)

I found today’s lecture difficult to understand and although I do understand the concept now, it took me a while to get my head round it.

Basic idea:
I am both the body and the subject = reflexive embodiment
Having a body – object
Being a body – subject

In this photo of me for example, I am the object, because someone else took it:

However, in this photo, I am both the subject and the object, because I am both the person taking the photo and am also in it:

This is reflexive embodiment.

Leave a Reply

