Plant Dye Lecture with Jane Meredith

13396504_10154227172524629_161961130_o

Today Jane Meredith, who is a plant dyer, came in to deliver a lecture and some workshop. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to attend the workshops but did manage to get in for the lecture, because it is something that I really didn’t want to miss.

Jane seemed like a really lovely lady with a huge amount of experience and research knowledge on natural plant dying. She grows most of the things she uses in her own garden and it was really interesting to hear her speak about her way of living and doing things. She showed some photos of her garden and some of the dye baths that she has previously created and it was very exciting to hear and see all of the beautiful colours that you can achieve just by using things that you have in your garden!

I think I am going to do a bit of research on the topic and look into the basics of how to actually do it, because of being unable to attend the workshops. I am very interested in colour as a whole and I think that this has the potential to be something that I could use for my third year studies.

This year one of the things that I have worked and improved on is taking up opportunities for extra bits that are outside of the curriculum. I felt that in my first year I hadn’t really made the most of the university and everything it offers so aimed to change this for my second year. I think I have achieved this to an extent by attending workshops such as paper making and letterpress, and also today, but it can definitely still be improved on in my third and final year here.

Leave a Reply

