Christmas Waste and Ethical Thinking

Further to my thoughts over the summer regarding how wasteful wrapping paper and greetings cards can be, I have done a little research to start myself off.

http://www.wragwrap.com/wrapping-paper-facts/

  • In the UK, we send 5 million tonnes of paper to land fill each year
  • In 1995, 1000 tonnes were sold in the UK
  • On average, it takes 6 mature trees to make a tonne

I came across this site called ‘Wrag Wrap’, who produce a reusable fabric gift wrap – “ethical gift wrap that lasts and lasts”.

Small Crackle fabric wrap in Neon Pink.  Shown wrapping a paperback novel.

The True Cost of Valentine’s Day

https://newrepublic.com/article/116595/valentines-day-environmental-travesty

https://www.thesocialmediahat.com/article/e-cards-are-they-eco-friendly-alternative

If there’s one thing that I have learnt from all of these articles is that the waste from greetings cards are humongous.

I think it would be great if I could produce a range with the same concept as Wrag Wrap, of having something that can be re-used, either for the same purpose or something completely  different. I’ve seen students in previous years do this sort of thing and I think it has been the most successful.

Leave a Reply

