Seed Paper and ‘Plantable’ Cards

Just before the summer I was having a conversation at home about a piece of paper received with a product from Clarins. It had seeds in it and the instructions said to soak and plant it. I was fascinated by this concept and sure enough, it has grown into a beautiful wildflower.

14467130_10154553342734629_1349950475_o.jpg

I love this idea as a favour for customers and had the idea of making cards out of handmade paper with seeds embedded.

Last year I did a paper making workshop and spent some time experimenting with this, although didn’t end up using it for my work. This could be a nice way to use this new skill and develop it further.

I knew that this couldn’t be an original idea so I had a look online and found a few companies that sell them.

Botanical Paperworks was the first I found, and they sell a variety of products including invites and confetti.
They seem to be the biggest company that I’e come across who sell these sort of products.
https://www.botanicalpaperworks.com/

These delicate and elegant Seeds of Love Plantable Wedding Invitations are embedded with wildflower seeds so your guests can plant them and watch your love grow.

I also found ‘Bloomin’, who have the same sort of products.

Home

virtuemart_product_back_close2

 

‘Plantable Seed Paper’ are another online company who sell plantable cards.

Home

Seed paper Christmas cards - Have a cool Yule

Because there are already quite a few sellers out there, I need to think about what would be my unique selling point. All of the seed paper that I have seen so far have been wildflower seeds.
I was thinking about looking into butterflies and bees, as these are attracted to these sort of plants and it encourages them into your garden. This could be a really interesting concept to research and would also make a good theme for my cards.
I am also toying with the idea of incorporating food, for example herb seeds and perhaps also vegetables. My Dad is a gardener so I am going to ask his opinion on what would work best.

Leave a Reply

