Rest Bay

I’m all for being ‘at one’ with my work, but falling over in a rock pool today wasn’t my finest moment…

But despite a soggy start, my sodden behind and I had a really good day of taking photographs and exploring Rest Bay, near Porthcawl.

 

This beach was full of rocks completely covered in barnacles, which was really useful to see after drawing and stitching them this week. Looking at them, I’m still really happy with my interpretations, as I think they capture the shape and texture well.

 

 

The beach was mostly sandy, but higher up there were pebbles, which were beautiful colours. These reminded me a little of my colour scheme, especially the hints of pinks and mustard-y yellows. It is really nice to see me colour scheme out on a beach, because I feel it confirms that I made the right decisions when identifying my palette.

 

 

I’ve got lots to do this week but am happy with my plan, and looking forward to making some good progress in my experimentation.

Leave a Reply

