Digital Day

On Friday after a cohort meeting, I felt that I was in a good place to pause my development work in favour for a bit of a digital refresher. I haven’t used Photoshop or Illustrator since the end of second year so I needed to go back to basics and remember how to work it. Digital never has and never will be my strongest skill but in terms of my portfolio, I think it will look so much more professional if digital.

17357256_10155116531309629_1008754032_o

I started by putting my colour scheme into Photoshop, and it was really useful to see it all together. I’m very happy with the colour palette that I’ve chosen for this project – I feel that is successfully represents my inspirations and primary research, but is also contemporary enough for my intended client.

17269597_10155116531389629_741694037_o

One of the biggest things I took from talking to Irene and looking through portfolio examples, was the importance of a brand which is clear and coherent throughout the whole thing, which will be assisted by font and colours. I put a few of my favourite fonts on Photoshop together for me to choose my favourite, and I decided on ‘Devanagari Sangam MN Reg’, which I felt was nice and simple and contemporary, which is how I’d like to represent my brand.

For the rest of the day I was just playing with initial ideas for portfolio pages and drawing barnacles and brittle stars.

This weekend I visited Cardiff Castle and while looking around the gift shop, I came across a display of prints, tea towels and bags with illustrations on them depicting the castle and the city. This was really interesting to see, especially with the products inspired by a particular location, and it was really good to know that I have chosen the right products to make! I am also now considering prints..

 

I’ve also been thinking this weekend about the 3D bird idea, and have finally decided not to take it any further. I feel that it is going to be very time consuming to create these alongside all of my other pieces, and I don’t know how well I can make them, because I’ve never done it before. It is a shame because I was quite excited to have a go at these, but it doesn’t mean that it isn’t something I can do in my spare time. I like that this project is so different to how I first intended with my initial ideas, and that it is naturally evolving.

Next week I’m quite keen to made some calico mock ups of my pieces, which will hopefully give me more confidence when making the finals.

 

Leave a Reply

