Button Making

Today I’ve been having a little go at a couple of ways of making the buttons to go onto the back of my cushions. They are going to be envelope backs with three buttons along the length.

18053483_10155229420849629_2124875208_o.jpg

Using ‘fimo’ clay I had a play with the best way of cutting out the shape, the number of holes in the button and also adding texture.

 

I was really happy with the result and they seem really strong, so I made the decision that 2 holes was the most effective and that I preferred the textured ones to the plain, and made 9 more. Filing the edges down once hardened made a big difference in these looking finished and professional.

I also had a go at covering some buttons in fabric. This is definitely another option for me because I was again quite happy with the look of this technique. There is the option to have stitching on these buttons, and for them to be in contrasting colours to the neutral linen back of the cushion.

I’m now really undecided as to what to choose for my products!

Leave a Reply

